Posted by: tvasailor | 2021-05-18

Receive Our Newsletter!

5/11: WLSC/Elizabethon ROTC Student Regatta Video by Mike Johnson
4/11: Racing Schedule and Changes for 2022
4/8: Urgent Dues Request for WLSC
4/6: Power Squadron Sailing Classs Offered Limited Space
3/20: Pirates from the Past, 2007 and 2012 Dinner Meetings
3/11: Wayne Catoe Radio-Controlled Sailboat
2/1: Racing Schedule and Changes for 2022

Free Newsletter

We send out a newsletter approximately once every week. To receive, add to your contact list and send a request to the same email address. One does not have to be a member to receive.

Here is an example of a recent newsletter:

Posted by: gregh1707livecom | 2022-05-16

Spring Race 2

Commodore Branddon spoke to the Elizabethton High school’s JROTC and then organized a daysail for the students.  The club’s captains graciously offered their time and it was a magical day for captains and all the enthusiastic crew followed by a pizza feast!

See the great video by Mike Johnson

Link to Video

The club is passionate about sailing and nautical traditions.  This wias a wonderful opportunity for us to expose some of our local youth to our passion. I believe this will also help perpetuate the club, bring potential new members, and connect us to our community.

Before the days of the Carona Virus, WLSC often had some great dinner meetings.

Here are a sample of two in the link below:

Posted by: tvasailor | 2022-03-11

Wayne Catoe and Radio-Controlled Boat Video

Wayne races all year long. He races his sailboat at Watauga and then his radio-controlled Soling at their winter home in Florida. Take a look at the very entertaining video with a demo by Captain Catoe in the link below:

Posted by: tvasailor | 2022-02-26

Restoring Lancer 28, Boo-Boo

Great Job of Restoring a Lancer 28 at Watauga Lake by Mike Johnson and associates including Tom Truman..

click here

Trailer 1:09 minutes

Full Movie 8:15 minutes

Posted by: tvasailor | 2021-11-17

Next Event Frostbite Race Jan. 1, 2022!

See the following press release for details:

Posted by: tvasailor | 2020-12-06


Posted by: tvasailor | 2020-07-12

Lakeshore Round the Island Challenge


Lakeshore has graciously offered to sponsor our first annual “Round the Island Challenge.”  The challenge will run for approximately a year and prizes will be gift certificates for meals at the Captain’s Table at the resort.  See the following link for details.

In the past we had a “Commodore’s Challenge”, but multiple fleet winners were not determined and no prizes were offered.  Hope to see you out on the water giving it a try!

Lakeshore Round the Island Challenge

Here are the results to date, be sure to click on WLSC Challenge Tab on bottom of Spreadsheet.

Results to Date

Older Posts »